Developing Community: The Vagina Monologues & A Memory, A Monologue, A Rant, A Prayer

Izzy Elliot, Guest Writer

Last week, students at Guilford College put on another wonderful performance of The Vagina Monologues and A Memory, A Monologue, A Rant, and A Prayer.  Two members of the cast share their thoughts on being part of the productions.

“I think that what is most powerful about MMRP is that it’s a reminder of the importance of storytelling. It’s a reminder to hear each other, and to learn from each other. From there we can develop solidarity and hopefully create change.”

-Taylor Starns

“This was my first experience on stage, and my first experience being apart of the Guilford community. I tried out for the play because I was fresh off a break up and feeling like crap and I also was feeling completely disconnected from the students of Guilford College, despite how much I loved the school. I tried out on a whim and was given the part I wanted: My Short Skirt. Throughout the audition, rehearsal, and actual performance process I developed connections with women on campus that made me feel rooted to its community, even though I am older and live on the other side of town. I had awesome  conversations about being a woman and by the time the play rolled around campus started to feel like a second home-one full of adorable, dysfunctional people that genuinely want to make the world a better place.” 

-Susie Williams

Leave a Reply

